Vatican City
I want to apply for
Vatican City 

Will I need an ETIAS or a Schengen Visa?

The Vatican City is regarded as an associate member of Schengen, due to its link to Italy. However, it is not part of the EU. This means to enter The Vatican, you must hold a valid Schengen visa. This also means you must tell the authorities in the state when and where you are arriving. You will be allowed to stay in the principality, and the Schengen zone up to 90 days. Upon the introduction of ETIAS, The Vatican will adopt the same rules as countries who are members of both the EU and Schengen zone. This will allow travellers a chance to apply using an ETIAS visa and travel freely within the Schengen zone.

Am I eligible

Select the country you are from

Select the country you would like to travel to

You are eligible for ETIAS!

Your country is not yet eligible for ETIAS.

Why should I visit Vatican City

The Vatican City is the home of Catholicism. However, even if you are not of Roman Catholic faith, it is well worth a visit. Michelangelo’s famous paintings in the Sistine Chapel is just one of the many incredible sights within St Peter’s Basilica. The remnants of a mosaic by Giotto hover above the doorway whilst other pieces by various other artists and sculptures decorate the Basilica. The Vatican Gardens and Library are no less spectacular sight for visitors. As well as the staggering St Peter’s square, where those who are of a Roman Catholic tendency can experience regular open air masses with the Pope himself.